EagleTribune.com, North Andover, MA


November 5, 2013

Haverhill gets new councilor, School Committee member

HAVERHILL — Voters have had their say, and the face of city government is changing.

While Mayor James Fiorentini easily won his sixth consecutive term over write-in candidate Tyler Kimball, there is a new member on both the City Council and School Committee.

With results from today's election complete but unofficial, challenger Melinda Barrett, owner of a downtown deli, has won a spot on the council. She takes the spot vacated by incumbent Michael Hart, who did not seek re-election. All eight other incumbents were re-elected.

The School Committee also has a new member. Challenger Maura Ryan-Ciardiello took one of three spots on the committee. She is teacher by training, but now stays at home with her children. She is also the daughter of longtime City Councilor William Ryan, a former Haverhill mayor.

She bounced incumbent Raymond Sierpina from the committee. He is as retired longtime Haverhill school principal who served one term on the committee. The other two School Committee incumbents, Joseph Bevilacqua and Paul Magliocchetti, were re-elected.

Here is the order of finish for the winning councilors:

John Michitson: 5,212

Robert Scatamacchia: 5,207

Melinda Barrett: 4,722

William Macek: 4,528

William Ryan: 4,471

Thomas Sullivan: 4,195

Mary Ellen Daly O'Brien: 4,194

Michael McGonagle: 4,011

Colin LePage: 3603

Here is the order of finish for the winning School Committee members:

Joseph Bevilacqua: 4,757

Maura Ryan-Ciardiello: 4,664

Paul Magliocchetti: 4,488

Watch eagletribune.com for updates. A complete election report will appear in tomorrow's Eagle-Tribune.

Text Only | Photo Reprints

Photos of the Week
New England News