EagleTribune.com, North Andover, MA

December 4, 2012

63 NAHS students named Advanced Placement Scholars

By Paul Tennant

---- — NORTH ANDOVER – Sixty-three students at North Andover High School have been designated AP Scholars by the College Board based on their performance on the Advanced Placement Exams.

The Advanced Placement program offers students the opportunity to take college-level courses while still in high school and to receive college credit, advanced placement, or both.

About 18 percent of the more than 1.6 million high school students in more than 16,000 secondary schools worldwide who took AP Exams performed well enough to earn recognition as AP Scholars. Students took the AP Exams in May 2012.

The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement. Sixteen NAHS students qualified as AP Scholars with Distinction by earning an average grade of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken and grades of 3.0 or higher on five or more of these exams. Members of the Class of 2012 recognized as AP Scholars with Distinction are: Kimberly Bernardin, Samantha Calderazzo, Timothy Chiang, Daniel Connolly, Elizabeth Gardell, Kevin Hood, Meagan Langton, Daniel Laorenza, Peter Novello, Stephen O’Grady, Kathryn Solomon, Nihala Thanikkal, Nicholas Thomas, Gwen Vozeolas, Jennifer Wen and Kaitlyn Whyte.

Fourteen NAHS students qualified for the AP Scholar with Honor Award by earning an average of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and grades of 3.0 or higher on four or more of these exams. Members of the Classes of 2012 and 2013 recognized as AP Scholars with Honor are: Samantha Blinn, Katrina Buchta, Stijn Collart, Mackenzie Cool, Yuka Fuchino, Jennifer Greene, Sarah Higgins, Megan Jalbert, Maxime Langlois, Michael Moroney, Yelena Ravvina, Alexander Sullivan, Michael Terranova and Jared Weiss.

In addition, thirty-three North Andover High School students qualified for the AP Scholar Award by completing three or more AP Exams, with grades of 3.0 or higher. AP Scholars from the Classes of 2012 and 2013 are: Joshua Brown, Shelley Burns, Lydia Carnevale, Danielle Coskren, Kaitryn Doyle, Kerianne Durgin, Rebecca Faigen , Meaghan Foster, Brooke Gillen, Laina Gray, Samantha Guisinger, Alexander Hammond, Kathryn Hollowell, Naveen Kumar, Ashley Lacey, Hannah Lahey, Rachel Levantovsky, Jeffrey Martelli, Haley McAloon, Kiera McManus, Alexandra Medlock, Julia Mehlman, Nicholas Pangakis, Marianna Paradise, Danielle Poto, Eric Riedel, David Rose, Meaghan Silva, Zack Spicer, Heather Swatski, Julia Varoutsos, Henry Wu and Alison Ziel.

“North Andover High School is proud of the accomplishments of these students,” Principal Carla Scuzzarella said.