Essex National Heritage Commission to meet in Haverhill
The Essex National Heritage Commission will hold its annual meeting and networking event April 10, from 8 to 10 a.m. at Winnekenni Castle in Haverhill. The public is welcome to attend this free networking opportunity that will further connect you with the work of Essex Heritage and that of its partners. A continental breakfast reception is at 8 a.m., followed by the business meeting at 8:30 a.m. Dr. James R. Nichols, a local physician and inventor, built the Castle in 1873 to 1875 as a summer home at this farm which he named Winnekenni. The idea for the original castle came from England. The Castle was sold to the city in 1895. In 1967, after a devastating fire destroyed the aging building, a group of citizens formed the Winnekenni Foundation, which is still in existence today. Its goal was to completely refurbish the interior of the building, and make it and its surrounding grounds available to the public for cultural and educational events. Essex Heritage’s semi-annual meetings provide a unique opportunity for Essex Heritage trustees, commissioners, members, supporters and partners to network with the public on a wide range of ongoing initiatives in the Essex National Heritage Area. For more information and to RSVP call 978-740-0444 or visit www.EssexHeritage.org.
Tours of Salem schools scheduled
SALEM — The school district will host public tours of the six elementary schools March 4-8.
The tours will give residents the opportunity to see the schools where renovations have been proposed — Fisk, Soule and Haigh — in addition to the three recently renovated — Barron, Lancaster and North Salem.
Tour guides will describe key facility features along with deficiencies in the schools targeted for renovations. District officials say the renovations will improve infrastructure, increase space and provide improved safety and security.
Residents will vote on the proposals March 12.