EagleTribune.com, North Andover, MA

November 5, 2013

Zanni re-elected mayor of Methuen

Good night for incumbent councilors

By Brian Messenger

---- — METHUEN - Mayor Stephen J. Zanni was re-elected mayor of Methuen by a wide margin over challenger City Councilor Jennifer Kannan today.

The vote was 4,967 to 3,683.

"I guess results do count," Zanni told supporters at the Sons of Italy hall. "I wanted to be a mayor you could be proud of, and I think I've accomplished that over these two years."

Kannan thanked her supporters gathered at the Sweetheart Inn. She said this was a "new experience" for her.

"I felt that we ran a pretty good campaign. I always believe in the people's voice, and they spoke," she said.

It was also a good night for incumbent members of the city council.

Councilor-at-large Joyce Campagnone was re-elected. She will be joined by new at-large members Daniel Grayton and James Jajuga.

"I'm going to bring the new ideas and new perspective," Grayton said.

Jajuga, a former state senator and most recently the former head of the Greater Haverhill Chamber of Commerce, was the top at-large vote getter with 4,984 votes.

Robert LeBlanc got the least amount of at-large votes in the five-person race for three seats with 1,629.

LeBlanc had come under fire this campaign over claims he was banned from Greater Lawrence Technical School for stalking a male high school student in 2005, among other allegations — all of which LeBlanc has denied.

East District Councilors Thomas Ciulla and Ronald Marsan were re-elected.

Central District incumbents James Atkinson and Lisa Yarid Ferry were re-elected as well as West District Councilor Sean Fountain. George Kazanjian will join Fountain in the West District.

There were eight candidates for six seats on the School Committee. The winners were: Mary Jean Fawcett, Lynne Hajjar Kumm, Richard Beshera, Dennis Deeb, Bryan Sweet and Robert Vogler.