EagleTribune.com, North Andover, MA

October 11, 2012

Two new committee members sworn in

By Paul Tennant ptennant@eagletribune.com
The Eagle-Tribune

---- — NORTH ANDOVER – Two new members of the School Building Committee were sworn in last week by Town Clerk Joyce Bradshaw.

Thomas Zahoruiko, who has built more than 150 homes in the area, was appointed to the committee by Town Moderator Mark DiSalvo. Jordan Burgess, a developer, was named by the School Committee.

DiSalvo also named Maureen Walsh Sakakeeny, an engineer, to the School Building Committee. Sakakeeny was unable to attend the swearing-in ceremony and is expected to take the oath of office at some other time.

The committee is responsible for guiding school construction projects. In the near future, the panel will be charged with overseeing the building of a new gymnasium at Kittredge School. The June 12 Town Meeting approved funding for designing the gym.

The moderator appoints four members of the School Building Committee, while the School Committee names three. Zahoruiko and Sakakeeny replace Harold Dushame, who died June 30, and James Lafond, who left the panel because of business commitments, according to DiSalvo.

Also serving on the building panel is School Committee member Stanley Limpert, who replaces School Committee Chairwoman Laurie Burzlaff. After being elected chairwoman of the school board earlier this year, Burzlaff said she wanted to step down from the building committee.

The other members are William Kelly, who has chaired the School Building Committee during the past year; Dan Ryan and Jay Burke.