EagleTribune.com, North Andover, MA

New Hampshire

February 3, 2013

Eighty Boy Scouts from area communities earn Eagle badge

2 million boys - less than 3 percent - have made it during a century of scouting

ANDOVER – The Yankee Clipper Council honored 188 Boy Scouts Friday night during its annual Eagle Scout recognition banquet held at the Wyndham Boston Andover.

Among those earning Scouting’s highest honor last year were 80 Eagles from 17 communities across the Merrimack Valley and Southern New Hampshire. Three of the scout units – Troops 76 and 77 of Andover and Boxford Troop 51 – each had six scouts making Eagle last year.

They join a prestigious group of about 2.2 million young men – fewer than 3 percent of everyone who has ever been a scout – who have earned the Eagle rank during the organization’s 101 year history.

Famous American recipients of the honor include former astronaut Neil Armstrong, the first man on the moon; Gerald R. Ford, 38th president of the U.S.; Dr. William C. DeVries, who transplanted the first artificial heart; Steven Spielberg, a top film director and producer; Henry Aaron, Hall of Fame baseball player and home run king; and Sam Walton, founder of Wal-Mart.

The local Eagle Scouts include:

Amesbury: Timothy Dwight, Jonathan Ellen, Michael Gilday and Joseph Kodwyck, Troop 4; Nikolas Cyr, Troop 7.

Andover: Adam Jones, Troop 73; Jacob King, Jared Parker and Alec Schaefer, Troop 75; John Andon, Ross Barton, Scott Kaluzny, Nicholas Solimini, Derek Wang and Derek Witt, Troop 76; Samuel Dosckocil, Richard Leung, Sloan Lynch, Thomas Norton, Samuel Pratt and David Stein, Troop 77; Robert Banta, Adrien Fleury, George Kuegler and Colin Rivet, Troop 79.

Atkinson: Brendan Megan, Troop 9.

Dracut: Paul Bailey, Andrew Dion, Troop 25; Patrick Clarke, Alexander Corcoran, Jonathan Couture, James Karlson and Alexander Ross, Troop 80.

Georgetown: Peter Frackleton, Troop 50; Jacob Barosin, Troop 51; Michael Swenson, Troop 52.

Groveland: Thane Cumming and Andrew Dixon, Troop 87.

Hampstead: Brandon Johnston, Zachary Sheltra and Jordan Yatsevich, Troop 33.

Haverhill: Zachary Brown, Nicholas Kirkham and Klye Stuart, Troop 1; Robert Conte,III, Troop 5; Domenick Mangano, Troop 24.

Lawrence: Christopher Vitale, Troop 75.

Merrimac: Alan Barlow and Matthew Romanowski, Troop 41.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
New Hampshire

ET Videos