EagleTribune.com, North Andover, MA

March 28, 2013

Central’s Gorski, Methuen’s Conway lead MVC/DCL hockey honorees

The Eagle-Tribune

---- — After advancing to the Super 8 for the third straight season, Central Catholic was well-represented on the All-MVC/DCL hockey team.

Dominant defenseman Nick Gorski led the group, also taking home the league’s sportsmanship award. Star newcomer Colin Soucy took home All-MVC/DCL honors as a goalie after a brilliant Super 8 run.

Methuen scoring machine Matt Bauchman and Andover netminder Colby Gilbert were also honored.

On the girls’ side, sophomore Amanda Conway of Methuen was an All-League selection after scoring 50 goals and leading upstart Tewksbury-Methuen on its Cinderella run to the Division 2 state semifinals.


All-MVC/DCL Division 1

Andover: Colby Gilbert, Sr., goalie; Central Catholic: Nick Gorski, Sr., defense; Lloyd Hayes, Jr., forward; Corey Webber, Jr., forward; Colin Soucy, Jr., goalie

All-MVC/DCL Division 2

Methuen: Matt Bauchman, Sr., forward; T.J. Gannon, Sr., defense; North Andover: Jake Silk, Sr., forward

Area All-Stars

Andover: Scott Campbell, Sr., forward; Mark Campbell, Jr., forward; Will Sauerbrunn, Soph., forward; Jack Wilkie, Jr., defense

Central Catholic: Alex Lester, Jr., forward; Kevin Regan, Jr., forward; Christian Thompson, Soph., forward; Derek Vaillancourt, Sr., defense; Conrad Jepson, Jr., defense; Justin Pimentel, Sr., defense

Haverhill: Scott Farley, Sr., defense; Tom Maguire, Jr., forward; Josh Goldstein, Soph., forward; Zach Grundy, Jr., goalie

North Andover: Nick Pino, Sr., defense; Derek Hunter, Sr., forward; Dan Rivet, Sr., defense

Miscellaneous Honors

MVP: Tom Bishop, Chelmsford (D1); Derek Petti, Tewksbury (D2)

Coaches of the Year: John Maguire, Waltham (D1); Peter Elenbaas, Lincoln-Sudbury (D2)

Sportsmanship: Nick Gorski, Central Catholic (D1); Jordan Dow, Lincoln-Sudbury (D2)


All-MVC/DCL Division 1

Andover: Meagan Keefe, Sr., forward; JoJo Olsen, Soph., defense

All-MVC/DCL Division 2

Tewksbury/Methuen: Amanda Conway, Soph., forward


Andover: Caroline Hughes, Soph., forward; Veronica Alois, Frosh., forward

Tewksbury/Methuen: Taylor Larikis, Jr., goalie; Kathleen Lefebre, Frosh., defense; Hayley Sutherland, Jr., defense

Miscellaneous Honors

MVP: Annie Messuri, A-B (D1); Kayla Kee, Newton South (D2)