EagleTribune.com, North Andover, MA

June 12, 2013

Andover's Camilo, Methuen's Chau top MVC girls tennis honorees

The Eagle-Tribune

---- — Andover’s Samantha Camilo and Methuen’s Karmen Chau locked down the top honors as divisional players of the year, voted on recently by the Merrimack Valley Conference girls tennis coaches.

On the boys side, there was a similar look with Austin Bendetson of Andover taking the Division 1 honor, and Methuen’s Luis Martinez taking the Player of the Year in Division 2.

Here’s a look at all the honoree on the girls and boys sides.



Division 1 Player of the Year: Samantha Camilo, Andover, Jr.

Division 2 Player of the Year: Karmen Chau, Methuen, Sr.

Division 1 Coach of the Year: Alan Hibino, Andover

Division 2 Coach of the Year: Mike Paglieroni, Methuen

Sportsmanship Award: Leticia Rosario, Lawrence, Soph.

All Conference

First singles: Christina Cokely, Haverhill, Frosh.

Second singles: Rachel Holzman, Andover, Sr.

Third singles: Lina Nguyen, Methuen, Jr.

First doubles: Andover — Julia Alagero, Sr. and Laurie-Maude Chenard, Soph.

Second doubles: North Andover – Olivia Sparks, Soph. and Yunji Koo, Frosh.

Local All-Stars

Andover: Paige Webster, Soph.

Haverhill: Madeline Scovotti, Sr.

Methuen: Tami Nguyen, Jr.; Monique Mai, Sr.; Akemma Chibuoglou, Frosh.; Marcie Mai, Jr.; Sinfong Tran, Jr.

North Andover: Sammie Bolognia, Soph.; Yuri Kim, Soph.; Jen Peitrowski, Jr.; Mary Terranova, Sr.



Division 1 Player of the Year: Austin Bendetson, Andover, Sr.

Division 2 Player of the Year: Luis Martinez, Methuen, Sr.

Division 1 Coach of the Year: Mike Wartman, Andover

Division 2 Coach of the Year: Chris Andros, Lowell

Jason Crago Award: Nathan Park, Billerica, Sr.

Joe Celia Award: Brendon DeDomenico, Billerica, Sr.; David Kitchen, Central, Sr.


Singles: Cam Engdahl, Chelmsford, Sr.; Varun Penamatsa, Andover, Jr.; Arun Padykula, Andover, Jr.; Alex Hammond, North Andover, Jr.

Doubles: Sebastien Boulas, Andover, Soph.; Drew Rooks, Andover, Frosh.; Sameer Sangal, Andover. Sr.; Aaron Edelman, Andover, Jr.

Local All-Stars

Lawrence: Chen Chen, Soph.; Alex Cruz, Jr.

North Andover: Kyle White, Jr.; John Wolf, Jr.; Jonah Knapping, Jr.; Alex Durfee, Sr.