EagleTribune.com, North Andover, MA

December 3, 2012

Brady, Scarpa named MVPs of MVC

The Eagle-Tribune

---- — Andover and Haverhill both placed two runners on the All-Merrimiack Valley Girls Cross Country Team that was announced recently while Methuen’s Mike O’Donnell was named the MVC Boys Runner of the Year for Division 1. Haverhill’s girls were represented by Jackie Solimine and Riley Gilmore while Leila Aruri and sophomore Sarah Rothman were the picks from Andover. Aruri was injured late in the season.

Rothman and Central’s Tiffany Simione were the only sophomore girls named all-conference while, for the boys, Methuen’s Matt Marchand was one of three sophomores.

All-MVC Cross Country

Boys All-Conference

Mike O’Donnell, Sr., Methuen; Patrick Coppinger, Sr., Lowell; Brian Amaral, Sr., Tewksbury; Michael Kalenoski, Sr., Lowell; John Abraham, Jr., Lowell; Quinn Cooney, Soph., Chelmsford; P.J. Garmon, Billerica; Scott Arsenault, Sr., Billerica; Dan Nolan, Sr., Chelmsford; Randy Nong, Jr., Lowell; Cory Thomas, Sr., Tewksbury; Brendan Knickle, Sr., Billerica; Matt Marchand, Soph., Methuen; Nick McArdle, Sr., Lowell; Joey Schultz, Sr., Billerica

Local Division 1 All-Stars

NORTH ANDOVER: Zach Fralich, Soph.; North Andover; Jacob Johns, Sr.

ANDOVER: Max Galat, Jr.; Peter McGinn, Sr.

CENTRAL: Danny O’Connell, Sr.; Simon Serrano, Sr.

METHUEN: Cam Pavao, Soph.; Devin Allen, Soph.; John St. Hillaire, Soph.; Jeff Reddy, Frosh.

Local Division 2 All-Stars

HAVERHILL: Christian White, Soph.; Nick Comei, Sr.

LAWRENCE: Edwin Quezada, Soph.

GIRLS All-Conference

Bryanna Allison, Lowell, Sr.; Alexandra Wood, Jr., Chelmsford; Jackie Solimine, Sr., Haverhill; Riley Gilmore, Jr., Haverhill; Tiffany Simione, Soph., Central Catholic; Allison Carbone, Sr., Billerica; Marissa Richards, Jr., Lowell; Karina Shepard, Jr., Dracut; Kaley Richards, Frosh., Lowell; Leila Aruri, Jr., Andover; Sarah Rothman, Soph., Andover; Julie Schultz, Jr., Billerica; Erin Donovan, Sr., Lowell

Local Division 1 All-Stars

ANDOVER: Meghan McPhee, Sr.; Cate Donovan, Soph.

Local Division 2 All-Stars

NORTH ANDOVER: Danielle Voke, Jr.; Deirdre Martyn, Sr.; Katelyn Thomas, Jr.; Laura DelleChaiaie, Soph.; Kiera McManus, Sr.

METHUEN: Marwah Haq, Jr.

LAWRENCE: Leanna Pham, Jr.


BOYS MVPs: Mike O’Donnell, Methuen (Division 1); Brian Amaral, Tewksbury (Division 2)

GIRLS MVPs: Bryanna Allison, Lowell (Division 1); Karina Shepard, Dracut (Division 2)

BOYS COACHES OF THE YEAR: Phil Maia, Lowell (Division 1); Catie Button, Billerica (Division 2)

GIRLS COACHES OF THE YEAR: Beth McKenna, Lowell (Division 1); Phil Coddaire, Dracut (Division 2)