EagleTribune.com, North Andover, MA

July 16, 2013

Perley returns, heads field for big 'Moneybags' race at Lee

The Eagle-Tribune

---- — LEE, N.H. — Six-time International Supermodified Association champion Chris Perley leads the field of entries for this Friday night’s second annual “Moneybags” Tripleheader championship event at Lee USA Speedway.

Perley, the all-time winningest driver in ISMA history, will be driving a newly built winged supermod designed and owned by Bob and Ed Witkum carrying No. 14. He will race as a teammate with defending track champ Tom Tombarello. It will be Perley’s first time behind the wheel of a small-block supermod since the mid-1980s.

“We think we can make this race more interesting so we’re going to shoot for the loot,” said Perley of the more than $15,000 up for grabs. “The Witkums have a great reputation for good equipment . We’re looking forward to it.”

Joining Perley in the field is supermod veteran Justin Belfiore, a former Classic champion who has plenty of experience at Lee. Mike Netishen, last year’s “Moneybags” runner-up, has won a pair of feature races this year and is among the top challengers.

Friday’s special format will find the 75-lap main event split into three 25-lap feature race segments. Time trials will determine the starting lineup in the first 25-lap event with the finish inverted for the second 25-lap race, winner starting last and second-place finisher starting second to last. The finish of the second 25-lapper again will be inverted for the final 25-lap segment.

Points from each segment will determine the overall champion and purse distribution, with bonus prize money offered to the top finishers of each race.

A five-lap winner-take-all playoff match race will determine the “Moneybags” championship In case of a tie for first place in points after three races.

Racing Hall-of-Famer and legendary supermodified champion Bentley Warren will be on hand as grand marshal. He also has posted a $500 “Hard Charger” award to the drivers who pass the most cars in three race segments.

A full program of stock car and Classic Light car races is on the program.

Time trials start at 6:45 p.m. and the first feature race starts at 8 p.m.