EagleTribune.com, North Andover, MA

December 28, 2012

Funks double their pleasure

Titles by twins lift Sachems to third; North Reading wins crown

By Dave Dyer

---- — WEST NEWBURY — It was a pretty fair day for New Hampshire wrestling yesterday at the Pentucket Tournament and an even better day for North Reading/Lynnfield, which captured its first tournament title since 2010.

But it was a great day for the Funk family of West Newbury.

Senior Tom Funk won his second straight Pentucket tourney title, rolling to the 120-pound crown after winning at 113 last year, while overshadowed twin Jeff won his first ever tournament crown, pinning his way through the 145-pount field.

“That was great to see,” said Pentucket coach Dennis Puleo. “Jeff has a lot of technique and is putting it all together this year. I think he was tired of finishing second (in tourneys).”

Although he has not had nearly the success of Tom, who was 44-9 last year and won two matches at New England, Jeff has been more motivated than envious of his brother’s success.

“I support my brother and it just encourages me to work harder,” said Jeff. “When he won today, it gave me a boost and got me ready.”

Tom Funk improved to 12-1 on the year and is feeling confident wrestling up a weight class.

“I feel stronger and it’s easier than last year to make weight,” he said. “My goals are to win Division 3 (states) and do better at New England.”

The titles by the Funks, complemented by an impressive runner-up finish at 138 by Kevin Clark and a third-place finish by Sean Clohisy at 195, lifted Pentucket to third-place, ahead of Cape Ann League foe Masconomet in the 18-team field. Clark beat top-seed Jake Kappler of Timberlane 8-5 in the semifinals and Clohisy had two pins and would have made the finals if not for an unexpected pin while leading his match in the semis.

“We had a couple of disappointments, but overall it was a good day for us,” said Puleo.

It was also a good day for New Hampshire. Exeter, which is a middle of the pack team in Division 1, was a strong second to North Reading/Lynnfield and the Timberlane B team finished sixth, fueled by individual titles from sophomore Jake Durkin (126) and Derek Bohle (132), the latter of whom was a runner-up at 126 last year.

North Reading/Lynnfield, which was second at Pentucket last year while compiling a 20-4 dual-meet record, got individual crowns from Eric Kerr at 113, Tom Arseneault at 220 and Andrew Kibarian at heavyweight.

Kerr, who was the 106 Pentucket champ last year, pinned all four of his opponents while Arseneault and Kibarian were nearly as impressive, pinning all three of his foes which, since he weighs in at only 207 pounds, is a fine accomplishment.

Among the Hornets’ other placers, Josh Intorcio continued to wrestle well at 160, pinning in the consolation finals to take third place.

With his team 8-0 in duals and a tournament crown in the bank, veteran North Reading/Lynnfield coach Craig Stone — even with two starters out of the lineup — couldn’t be happier.

“Right now, we just have to keep the snowball rolling,” said Stone.

Whittier, which was eighth, had two finalists. Shahib Blount was runner-up at 170, pinning his first two opponents and leading 7-1 in the finals before an unfortunate pin by Exeter’s Jeff King, while Jeremy Martinez was runner-up at 195.

Pentucket Tournament

Team scores: North Reading/Lynnfield 151, Exeter 142 1/2, Pentucket 116. Masconomnet 112 1/3, Roxbury Latin 99, Timberlane 91 1/2, Georgetown/Ipswich 83, Whittier 82, North Andover 81, Josiah Quincy 68, Tri-County 63, Lexington 61, Gr. Lawrence 55, Marblehead 53 1/2, Salem 46, Acton-Boxboro 44, Malden Catholic 43, Peabody 18

Winners and top local placers:

106: 1. Bradely Sowsy (Lex), 3. Stephen Manning (NA); 113: 1. Eric Kerr (NR), 2. Jorge Quinones (GL), 3. Tyler Tannian (Whit); 120: 1. Tom Funk (Pent), 2. Charlie Galanis (Gtown), 4. Marco Petrocilli (NA); 126: 1. Jake Durkin (Tim), 3. Mike Gallanar (Gtown); 132: 1. Derek Bohle (Tim), 3. David Ingraham (Gtown); 138: 1. Rhett Adley (Lex), 2. Kevin Clark (Pent), 3. Jake Kappler (Tim); 145: 1. Jeff Funk (Pent), 2. Alex Pascucci (NR), 3. Joey Parisek (Tim), 4. Will O’Donnell (Whit); 152: 1. Brian Palmborg (T-C), 2. Jack Laurenza (NA); 160: 1. Seth McNay (RL), 3. Josh Intorcio (NR); 170: 1. Jeff King (Ex), 2. Shahib Blount (Whit); 182: 1. Guy Green (RL); 195: 1. Mike Bakanowsky (Masco), 2. Jeremy Martinez (Whit), 3. Sean Clohisy (Pent); 220: 1. 1. Tom Arseneault (NR), 2. Luis Mateo (GL), 4. Derek Chamberlain (Gtown); HVY: 1. Andrew Kibarian (NR)