Smith, Delaney named MVC coaches of year

Courtesy photo The Central Catholic volleyball captains are from left, Sarah Janco No. 6, Mackenzie Hall No. 5 and Rachel Hyatt No. 8. [[MER1809161242282591]]

Two local softball coaches, neither of whom led their team to a league title, were named Merrimack Valley Conference Coaches of the Year.

Methuen’s Jason Smith, who led the Rangers to a 16-4 regular season record, was named Division 1 Coach of the Year while Lawrence’s John Delaney, who made the Lancers far more competitive, was selected Division 2 Coach of the Year.

Also honored among the MVc All-Stars was Central Catholic senior Sarah Janco, who was named Division 1 Player of the Year, while Lawrence’s Jazlyne Jenkins and Methuen’s Cori Rizzo were recipients of the Rebecca Solomon Sportsmanship Award.


First Team

Andover — Alexa Pacy, Sr.; Anna Zdunczyk, Sr.

Central Catholic — Sarah Janco, Sr.

Dracut — Sabrina Morse, Sr.; Riley White, Sr.

Haverhill — Kerrin McLaughlin, Sr.

Lowell — Giana LaCedra, Frosh.; Nikky Yrrizarry, Jr.

Methuen — Steph Tardugno, Soph.; Jillian McCoy, Jr.; Nyah Mazzone, Sr.

North Andover — Sam Ahlholm, Sr.; Haley Gove, Sr.

Tewksbury — Isabella Deroche, Sr.

Local Second Team All-Conference

Andover — Scarlett Gillette, Sr.; Ashley Cocchairo, Sr.

Central Catholic — Hayley Rapaglia, Frosh.

Haverhill — Alyssa Wilson, Jr.; Jadynne Hill, Sr.; Brianna Constabile, Sr.

Lawrence — Mikayla Rivera, Jr.; Lynsey Lawrence, Sr.; Maria Lopez, Jr.

Methuen — Dana Littlefield, Jr.; Cori Rizzo, Sr.; Emma McAlpine, Sr.

North Andover — Alyssa Roderick, Sr.; Talia Brown, Sr.; Olivia Rondeau, Jr.

Special Awards

Players of the Year — Sarah Janco , Central Catholic (Division 1); Giana LaCedra, Lowell (Division 2)

Coaches of the Year — Jason Smith, Methuen and Jason Keefe, Dracut (Division 1); John Delaney, Lawrence (Division 2)

Rebecca Solomon Sportsmanship Award — Jazlyne Jenkins, Lawrence; Cori Rizzo, Methuen

Recommended for you